Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


18 November 2017

Club News


18 November 2017

Wagner makes two changes to starting XI

- Wagner makes two changes to starting XI
- Martin Cranie & Danny Williams in the line-up
- Schindler (suspended) & Hogg (family reasons) out

Huddersfield Town Head Coach David Wagner has made two changes to the starting XI for this afternoon’s Premier League game at AFC Bournemouth; 3pm kick-off at the Vitality Stadium.

With Christopher Schindler serving a one match suspension following his red card against West Bromwich Albion last time out, Martin Cranie comes into central defence for his first Premier League appearance of the season.

Cranie – a former AFC Bournemouth loanee back in 2004 – is making his first top flight start since 15 August 2007, when he played for Portsmouth in a 1-1 home draw against Manchester United.

The other change comes in central midfield. Jonathan Hogg has not travelled to the south coast through family reasons – his wife gave birth to their son last night (congratulations Hoggy!) – so Danny Williams (pictured above) returns to the line-up after captaining the United States in Portugal on Tuesday.

As a result, Aaron Mooy wears the captain’s armband today.

There are changes among the substitutes too, with Joel Coleman replacing Robert Green alongside returns to the squad for Dean Whitehead and Abdelhamid Sabiri.

Scott Malone and Florent Hadergjonaj make their first back-to-back starts for Town today; Malone is starting against one of his former clubs too, having played the entire 2011/12 season for the Cherries.

Alongside Hogg and Schindler, Wagner is also without the services of Philip Billing (ankle), Jon Gorenc Stanković (knee), Michael Hefele (Achilles) and Kasey Palmer (fitness after long-term hamstring injury).

Town’s team vs AFC Bournemouth
1. Jonas Lössl
3. Scott Malone
9. Elias Kachunga
10. Aaron Mooy (c)
14. Martin Cranie
17. Rajiv van La Parra
19. Danny Williams
20. Laurent Depoitre
22. Tom Ince
25. Mathias Zanka
33. Florent Hadergjonaj

Joel Coleman, Tommy Smith, Dean Whitehead, Abdelhamid Sabiri, Chris Löwe, Collin Quaner, Steve Mounié

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account