Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


2 March 2024

Club News


2 March 2024

Huddersfield Town Head Coach André Breitenreiter makes two changes to the team

- Huddersfield Town side named to face Leeds United
- Head Coach André Breitenreiter makes a couple of changes
- Danny Ward and Sorba Thomas come into the side

Huddersfield Town Head Coach André Breitenreiter has made two changes to the starting line-up for today’s West Yorkshire derby against Leeds United, which gets under way at 12.30pm at the John Smith’s Stadium.

Having netted twice from the bench in last weekend’s 2-1 away win at Watford, Danny Ward comes into the starting side for his first start of 2024. Wardy, who was in the Leeds United Academy as a youngster, replaces Josh Koroma, who is a substitute.

Our second switch sees Sorba Thomas, who missed that victory at Vicarage Road due to the birth of his first child, come straight back into the team at the expense of Chelsea loanee Alex Matos.

The starting XI is otherwise unchanged from last weekend, with skipper Jonathan Hogg recovered from the back injury that forced him off the pitch last Saturday.

Goalkeeper Lee Nicholls is making the 350th start of his club career today.

There are two very welcome returns among the substitutes this afternoon. Michał Helik is back in the match day 20 after a five game absence with the knee injury he sustained at Queens Park Rangers, whilst Jaheim Headley returns to the squad for the first time since suffering an ankle injury at Leicester City on New Year’s Day.

Ben Jackson, Pat Jones, and Giosue Bellagambi drop out of the match day squad.

Breitenreiter is without goalkeeper Jacob Chapman, who is in the final stages of his recovery from an ankle injury, as well as Josh Ruffels (groin), Ollie Turton (knee), Kian Harratt (suspended), Radinio Balker (quad) and Rhys Healey (groin).

Town’s team vs Leeds United
1. Lee Nicholls
4. Matty Pearson
6. Jonathan Hogg (c)
7. Delano Burgzorg
8. Jack Rudoni
14. Sorba Thomas
17. Brodie Spencer
18. David Kasumu
25. Danny Ward
32. Tom Lees
33. Yuta Nakayama

Chris Maxwell; Michał Helik, Bojan Radulovic, Josh Koroma, Brahima Diarra, Jaheim Headley, Tom Edwards, Alex Matos, Ben Wiles

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account