Skip to main content Skip to site footer

About Town


Formed in 1908, Huddersfield Town has one of the proudest histories of any club in English football.

Recognised as one of the most successful English clubs of all time, we were the first to win the English League title three times in a row in 1924, 1925 and 1926. This is a feat that has only been repeated by four other teams; Arsenal, Manchester United, Liverpool and Manchester City. 

The Club's current custodian is American businessman Kevin Nagle, hailing from Sacramento, California. Taking operational control of the Club in the summer of 2023, Kevin became the first overseas owner of Huddersfield Town, taking the reigns from local businessman Dean Hoyle.

The Football League Independent Supporters Survey has also ranked Huddersfield Town as first out of all 72 Clubs at communication with supporters, attracting new fans and creating a matchday experience.  

Simply, our history serves as an inspiration for our future as we build a Club that our supporters can be proud of.


'Thrice Champions'

Division 1 Champions: 1923/24, 1924/25, 1925/26
Division 1 Runners-up: 1926/27, 1927/28
Division 2 Champions: 1969/70
Division 2 Runners-up: 1919/20
Division 2 (Sky Bet Championship) Play-Off Winners: 2016/17
Division 3 Play-Off Winners: 1994/95, 2011/12
Division 4 Champions: 1979/80
Division 3 (old Division 4) Play-Off Winners: 2003/04

FA Cup Winners: 1921/22
FA Cup runners-up: 1919/20, 1927/28, 1929/30, 1937/38
Associate Members Cup (Autoglass Trophy) runners-up: 1993/94


Record Crowd for a Home Game: 67,037 (versus Arsenal, FA Cup Sixth Round 1932)
Record Transfer Fee Paid: Steve Mounié (July 2017, Montpellier)
Record Transfer Received: £8m, Jordan Rhodes (August 2012, Blackburn Rovers)
Biggest Victory: 10-1, versus Blackpool (1930)
Record Scorer: George Brown - 159
Record League Scorers: George Brown & Jimmy Glazzard – 142


Premier League Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Advanced Award: 2023
Menopause Friendly Awards Most Supportive Partner: 2022 Runner-up, 2023
npower League 1 Family Club of the Year: 2008, 2010, 2012
Football League Family Excellence Award: 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2022, 2023
Football League Family Club of the Year: 2008
National Customer Service Awards – Ticket Office Highly Commended: 2008
Football League Best Fan Marketing Campaign – Highly Commended: 2009
npower League 1 Best Match Day Programme: 2010
Yorkshire Air Ambulance Outstanding Partnership Award: 2010
npower Best Innovation Award – ‘Terriers Bingo’: 2010
Examiner Business Awards Community Award: 2012, 2014
Yorkshire Air Ambulance Chairman’s Award: 2012
Northern Lights Corporate Social Responsibility (Town Foundation): 2017
Football Business Awards, Innovation in Football: Silver 2017
Yorkshire Choice Awards Sporting Achievement of the Year: 2018
Sports Business Awards, Best CSR or Community Scheme (Town Foundation): 2018
Grassroots Project of the Year (Town Foundation): 2019
Examiner Community Awards, Outstanding Community Spirit Award: 2019


iFollow Next Match Tickets Account