Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


6 June 2016

Here's a full line-up of Championship teams for the 2016/17 campaign

David Wagner’s side will take on Newcastle United, Norwich City and Aston Villa who were all relegated from the Premier League last season.

Norwich only lasted one year in the Premier League, while it was Newcastle’s first relegation to the Championship after being promoted back to the English top-flight in 2010.

New Aston Villa manager, Roberto Di Matteo will also visit the John Smith’s Stadium this year as he takes charge of a Villa team who are in the second-tier of English football for the first time since 1987.

The teams promoted back to the Championship replacing Charlton, MK Dons and Bolton are winner Wigan, Burton Albion and fellow-Yorkshire side Barnsley.

Wigan topped League One, two points ahead of Nigel Clough’s Burton Albion, who finished just above third placed Walsall.

While Barnsley beat Walsall 6-1 on aggregate in the play-off semi finals before beating Millwall 3-1 at Wembley to confirm their return to the Championship.

Here’s a full line-up of the Championship Teams:

Aston Villa
Birmingham City
Blackburn Rovers
Birmingham City
Blackburn Rovers
Brighton and Hove Albion
Bristol City
Burton Albion
Cardiff City
Derby County
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Newcastle United
Norwich City
Nottingham Forest
Preston North End
Queens Park Rangers
Rotherham United
Sheffield Wednesday
Wigan Athletic
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Go on on Wednesday 22 June when the Championship fixtures are released at 9am.
Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block