Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


4 May 2024

Club News


4 May 2024

André Breitenreiter makes four changes to his Huddersfield Town side at Portman Road

Ipswich Town vs Huddersfield Town
André Breitenreiter makes four changes
Maxwell, Jackson, Edwards and Wiles start

There are four changes for Huddersfield Town this afternoon, with André Breitenreiter giving the side a different look for our final Sky Bet Championship fixture of the 2023/24 season at Portman Road against Ipswich Town.

Having already announced in his pre-match press conference that Chris Maxwell would be starting in place of Lee Nicholls in acknowledgement of his hard work and professionalism as the season draws to a close, it will be the Welsh goalkeeper’s 10th appearance in all competitions during his first season at the Club, having been amongst the substitutes on 31 occasions.

Two further changes are also present at the back for the Terriers, with Ben Jackson and Tom Edwards coming in to start, as Brodie Spencer drops to the bench. The final change sees Ben Wiles introduced in midfield, with both Josh Koroma and Alex Matos amongst the substitutes as a result. Retaining their place in the starting side, Michał Helik remains captain with Matty Pearson, Ollie Turton, David Kasumu, Jack Rudoni, Danny Ward and Rhys Healey all continuing.

Giosue Bellagambi, Tom Iorpenda, Bojan Radulovic and Pat Jones will also be options as the game goes on, with B Team right-back Neo Eccleston drafted into the First Team squad for the first time. Joining the Club from Chelsea in 2020, Eccleston went on to sign his first professional contract in 2022, working his way through our U17 and U19 groups before becoming a fixture of the side at B Team level. An important landmark in the 20-year-old’s career, he will wear squad number 45 this afternoon.

With focus now on regaining fitness for the 2023/24 campaign, the Terriers remain without Tom Lees (MCL), Josh Ruffels (groin), Jonathan Hogg (shoulder), Kian Harratt (suspension), Radinio Balker (thigh) and Yuta Nakayama (knee).

Huddersfield Town Starting XI

12. Chris Maxwell
4. Matty Pearson
5. Michał Helik
8. Jack Rudoni
16. Tom Edwards
18. David Kasumu
20. Ollie Turton
23. Ben Wiles
25. Danny Ward
30. Ben Jackson
44. Rhys Healey


Lee Nicholls, Giosue Bellagambi; Bojan Radulovic, Josh Koroma, Brodie Spencer, Alex Matos, Pat Jones, Tom Iorpenda, Neo Eccleston

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account