Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


8 August 2023

Chris Maxwell makes his competitive debut for Huddersfield Town

- Huddersfield Town side named to face Middlesbrough
- Neil Warnock gives a chance to impress to several players
- Jonathan Hogg and Yuta Nakayama among starters

Huddersfield Town Manager Neil Warnock has named his side for tonight’s Carabao Cup Round One game against Middlesbrough; 7pm kick-off at the John Smith’s Stadium.

Summer signing Chris Maxwell makes his competitive Town debut this evening, starting in goal. Lee Nicholls is one of nine substitutes tonight.

There’s also a start for Japan international Yuta Nakayama. It is the 26-year-old’s first competitive start since suffering a serious Achilles injury in the Sky Bet Championship game at home to Sunderland in February.

Another player returning from injury is club captain Jonathan Hogg, who missed most of pre-season with an ankle problem. Any game against Middlesbrough is special for Hoggy; he hails from the town and started his career in the Boro Academy before moving to Aston Villa.

Jordan Rhodes also has Middlesbrough connections, having played for tonight’s opposition between February 2016 and February 2017. He makes his first start of the season this evening.

Two Academy graduate Kian Harratt makes his first competitive starts for the Terriers tonight, with 20-year-old Loick Ayina getting his second after facing Preston North End in the Emirates FA Cup Third Round at Deepdale last season and has since has a successful loan spell in the Scottish Premiership with Dundee United.

Harratt, 21, has scored once in seven substitute appearances for Town – that came in the 3-2 Championship win at Watford in April.

21-year-old midfielder Josh Austerfield makes his third senior appearance for Town this evening, with his previous two appearances coming back in 2020/21. He’s now made 50 competitive club appearances through loans at Harrogate Town and Morecambe.

Town’s team vs Middlesbrough
12. Chris Maxwell
6. Jonathan Hogg (c)
11. Brahima Diarra
15. Jaheim Headley
17. Brodie Spencer
19. Jordan Rhodes
22. Kian Harratt
30. Ben Jackson
33. Yuta Nakayama
36. Josh Austerfield
37. Loick Ayina

Lee Nicholls; Rarmani Edmonds-Green, Josh Ruffels, Josh Koroma, Sorba Thomas, Pat Jones, Kyle Hudlin, Scott High, Connor Mahoney

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account