Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


11 May 2021

Club News


11 May 2021

Nine senior Town players were out of contract

- Huddersfield Town's 2020/21 retained list confirmed
- Nine senior players leave the Club
- Options taken on Vallejo, Bacuna, Mbenza and Crichlow

Huddersfield Town can today confirm their Retained List of players following the conclusion of the 2020/21 Sky Bet Championship season.

Huddersfield-born striker Fraizer Campbell’s previous contract expired at the end of the current season, but he has already signed a new deal with the Club. Fraizer has put pen-to-paper on a new one-year contract, with the Terriers having an option to extend it for a further year.

Fraizer has been a regular under Carlos Corberán, featuring in 40 out of 46 Sky Bet Championship games, and has scored seven goals this season.

Further discussions are planned with centre-back Richard Keogh regarding his contract beyond the 2020/21 campaign. The 34-year-old has experience spanning over 650 games and a role combining a mentorship position for Town’s younger players transitioning into the First Team alongside his playing contract is on the agenda.

Four players currently in the First Team squad have had options taken to extend their contracts into the 2021/22 campaign; Álex Vallejo, Juninho Bacuna, Isaac Mbenza and Romoney Crichlow.

29-year-old midfielder, Álex, joined Town in October as a free agent and has gone on to make 16 appearances for the Club. After an extensive period of adapting to Carlos Corberán’s physical demands and English football, the Spaniard has fitted straight into his style of play.

After joining Town from Groningen back in 2018, Juninho Bacuna has gone on to make over 100 appearances for the Club. During the 2020/21 campaign, Bacca scored five goals and set-up four for his teammates.

Isaac Mbenza made 35 appearances for the Terriers during the 2020/21 campaign and contributed to 12 goals (five goals and seven assists). He joined Town back in 2018 originally on loan from Montpellier before signing permanently a year later.

Academy graduate Romoney Crichlow made six appearances for the Club season. He won the man of the match award on his first Sky Bet Championship start against Nottingham Forest and scored his first professional goal in the Emirates FA Cup against Plymouth Argyle.

Nine First Team players have not been offered a new contract and will now depart the Club; Tommy Elphick, Alex Pritchard, Oumar Niasse, Richard Stearman, Jayson Leutwiler, Demeaco Duhaney, Christopher Schindler, Jaden Brown and Yaya Sanogo.

Schindler’s departure has already been announced today, with the 31-year-old having played a vital role in Huddersfield Town’s recent history. He scored the penalty that fired the Club into the Premier League and won two Player of the Year awards.

Alex Pritchard was also part of the Town side that secured top-flight status in the 2017/18 campaign.

Alongside this, Carel Eiting and Joel Pereira will now return to their parent clubs.

The Club would like to thank all nine departing players, alongside Carel and Joel, for their hard work and contribution and wishes them all the best for the future.

In summary:

Signed a new contract
Fraizer Campbell

Contract discussions ongoing
Richard Keogh

Contractual option taken for 2021/22
Álex Vallejo
Juninho Bacuna
Isaac Mbenza
Romoney Crichlow

Tommy Elphick
Alex Pritchard
Oumar Niasse
Richard Stearman
Jayson Leutwiler
Demeaco Duhaney
Christopher Schindler
Jaden Brown
Yaya Sanogo

Returns to parent club at end of loan
Carel Eiting
Joel Pereira

Already under contract in 2021/22
Harry Toffolo
Jonathan Hogg
Lewis O’Brien
Duane Holmes
Rolando Aarons
Josh Koroma
Sorba Thomas
Danny Grant
Naby Sarr
Danny Ward
Aaron Rowe
Ben Jackson
Ryan Schofield
Jacob Chapman
Matty Daly
Rarmani Edmonds-Green
Kieran Phillips
Scott High
Reece Brown

CLICK HERE to renew your Season Card for the 2020/21 Sky Bet Championship campaign!

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account