Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


7 August 2021

Club News


7 August 2021

Four changes to the team from the Carabao Cup game

- Huddersfield Town side named to face Derby County
- Four changes to the team from the Sheffield Wednesday game
- Ryan Schofield, Naby Sarr, Sorba Thomas & Jordan Rhodes start

Head Coach Carlos Corberán has made four changes to the starting line-up for today’s Sky bet Championship opener against Derby County; 3pm kick-off at Pride Park.

Unfortunately, Lewis O’Brien, Josh Ruffels and Lee Nicholls have returned positive COVID-19 tests, whilst Harry Toffolo also returned an asymptomatic positive test. Accordingly, those players are not in the squad today.

Carlos Corberán is also absent from Pride Park following a positive COVID-19 test, so Assistant Coaches Jorge Alarcón, Narcis Pelach, and Danny Schofield will lead affairs from the touchline today.

With Nicholls absent, Ryan Schofield starts in goal today, with 18-year-old Michael Roxburgh the backup ‘keeper among the substitutes.

Toffolo, O’Brien and Josh Koroma are replaced by Naby Sarr, Sorba Thomas and Jordan Rhodes in the line-up, with Koroma among the substitutes too.

Matty Pearson, Ollie Turton and Levi Colwill make their league debut for Town, with the latter duo also making their first appearances in the Sky Bet Championship.

Today also marks Sorba Thomas’ first Championship start following eight substitute appearances in the second half of last season.

Duane Holmes starts against his former club; he made 83 Derby appearances, scoring six goals, between 2018 and 2021.

There’s a welcome return to the match day squad for Fraizer Campbell today following injury, where he is joined by Reece Brown and Ben Jackson.

Pipa, Rolando Aarons, and Aaron Rowe are still recovering from their pre-season injuries.

Town’s team vs Derby County
31. Ryan Schofield
4. Matty Pearson
6. Jonathan Hogg (c)
9. Jordan Rhodes
15. Scott High
16. Sorba Thomas
19. Duane Holmes
20. Ollie Turton
23. Naby Sarr
25. Danny Ward
26. Levi Colwill

Michael Roxburgh; Álex Vallejo, Josh Koroma, Reece Brown, Fraizer Campbell, Danel Sinani, Ben Jackson

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account