Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


4 January 2020

Club News


4 January 2020

Danny Cowley names strong side for Emirates FA Cup clash

- Huddersfield Town side named to face Southampton
- Manager Danny Cowley makes three changes to the starting line-up
- Joel Coleman, Fraizer Campbell and Florent Hadergjonaj all start

Huddersfield Town Manager Danny Cowley has made three changes to the starting line-up for today’s Emirates FA Cup game against Southampton; 3.01pm kick-off at St. Mary’s Stadium.

The first change comes in goal, where Kamil Grabara is given a rest after his near ever-present record in league action. Joel Coleman replaces him for his first competitive appearance of the season.

Coincidentally, Joel’s last appearance for Town came at St. Mary’s in the season-ending 1-1 draw at Southampton back in May 2019.

The second change sees Florent Hadergjonaj replace Karlan Grant. Town’s top scorer is one of just two players to start every Sky Bet Championship game this season and is a substitute today, with the Kosovan international starting.

The final change comes in attack, where Fraizer Campbell makes his first start since sustaining a hip injury at Bristol City on 30 November. Steve Mounié is a substitute today.

Rarmani Edmonds-Green and Demeaco Duhaney are both cup-tied, having already featured in this season’s Emirates FA Cup for their loan clubs Bromley and Boston United respectively. That means 18-year-old midfielder Scott High comes back into today’s match day squad.

Danny Simpson starts the game on his 33rd birthday, whilst Jaden Brown and Trevoh Chalobah make their Emirates FA Cup debuts today.

Elias Kachunga also returns to the match day squad after recovering from the ankle injury that kept him out of the defeat to Stoke City.

Alongside the two cup-tied players, the Cowley brothers are without the injured Tommy Elphick (knee), Alex Pritchard (knee) and Colin Quaner (hip) this afternoon.

Town’s team vs Southampton
13. Joel Coleman
6. Jonathan Hogg
7. Juninho Bacuna
8. Trevoh Chalobah
17. Danny Simpson
22. Fraizer Campbell
26. Christopher Schindler (c)
27. Jon Gorenc Stanković
28. Jaden Brown
33. Florent Hadergjonaj
39. Lewis O’Brien

Ryan Schofield; Elias Kachunga, Karlan Grant, Josh Koroma, Steve Mounié, Matty Daly, Scott High

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account