Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


4 August 2020

First Academy player to win Player of the Year in his first senior Town season

- Lewis O’Brien named Town’s Player of the Year
- Young midfielder won the award in his first season for Town
- Lewis is the 12th Academy player to win the trophy

Lewis O’Brien wrote his name in Town’s history books by becoming the first Academy graduate to win the Player of the Season Trophy in his first senior season for the Club.

Following a vote, Lewis emphatically won the award being backed by 65% of Huddersfield Town supporters.

That resounding result means that he’s the first ever Academy graduate to be awarded the coveted trophy in his first professional season with the Club.

Not only that, but the hard-working, battling midfielder also follows in the footsteps of Huddersfield Town stars likes Mark Lillis, Jon Worthington and Andy Booth.

After making his debut against QPR earlier this season, Lewis went from strength-to-strength and was quick to nail down his spot in Town’s starting XI. His first goal away at West Bromwich Albion quickly followed as did his first assist.

But what Lewis is most known for is his energetic performances and his never give up attitude.

He went on to make 39 appearances in all competitions, score two goals – one of which was the Sky Bet Championship Goal of the Month – and set up four for his teammates.

Here’s a full list of Huddersfield Town’s Player of the Year winners:
1975: Terry Dolan
1976: Terry Gray
1977: Kevin Johnson
1978: Mick Butler
1979: Alan Starling
1980: Malcolm Brown
1981: Mark Lillis
1982: Mick Kennedy
1983: David Burke
1984: Paul Jones
1985: David Burke
1986: Joey Jones
1987: Duncan Shearer
1988: Simon Trevitt
1989: Steve Hardwick
1990: Lee Martin
1991: Graham Mitchell
1992: Iwan Roberts
1993: Neil Parsley
1994: Steve Francis
1995: Ronnie Jepson
1996: Tom Cowan
1997: Tom Cowan
1998: Jon Dyson
1999: Nico Vaesen
2000: Jamie Vincent
2001: Craig Armstrong
2002: Leon Knight
2003: Martin Smith
2004: Jon Worthington
2005: Nathan Clarke
2006: Andy Booth
2007: David Mirfin
2008: Andy Holdsworth
2009: Gary Roberts
2010: Peter Clarke
2011: Peter Clarke
2012: Jordan Rhodes
2013: James Vaughan
2014: Adam Clayton
2015: Jacob Butterfield
2016: Nahki Wells
2017: Aaron Mooy
2018: Christopher Schindler
2019: Christopher Schindler
2020: Lewis O'Brien

Advertisement block