Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


2 March 2019

Club News


2 March 2019

Sponsored by

Juninho Bacuna comes into Jan Siewert’s starting XI

- Jan Siewert names Huddersfield Town XI to face Brighton & Hove Albion
- Juninho Bacuna replaces the injured Demeaco Duhaney
- 17-year-old Academy graduate Matty Daly among the substitutes

Jan Siewert has made one change to the Huddersfield Town starting XI for today’s Premier League game at Brighton & Hove Albion; 3pm kick-off at the American Express Community Stadium.

After an impressive second-half performance as a substitute in Tuesday night’s win over Wolves, Netherlands Under-21 international Juninho Bacuna comes into the line-up today. Demeaco Duhaney misses out with the slight hip issue that forced him off in midweek.

The side is otherwise unchanged from the team that started Tuesday night’s victory, meaning Alex Pritchard makes the 150th start of his career today.

After an impressive return to the team against Wolves, Jon Gorenc Stanković makes his first back-to-back starts in the Premier League. It’s only the second time he’s started successive games for the Terriers since joining the Club in the summer of 2016.

Erik Durm continues at full-back for his first back-to-back starts of 2019.

17-year-old midfielder Matty Daly is named as a substitute for his first appearance in a First Team squad today. The England Under-17 star was a standout performer for the Three Lions in last summer’s European Championships and has progressed through the Academy after joining as a 14-year-old. Town fans may recall that he scored for the First Team in the pre-season friendly at Bury.

Tommy Smith (suspended), Adama Diakhaby (hamstring), Isaac Mbenza (calf), Danny Williams (knee), Laurent Depoitre (illness) and Demeaco Duhaney (hip) are all unavailable to Jan Siewert this afternoon.

Town’s team vs Brighton & Hove Albion
1. Jonas Lössl
5. Terence Kongolo
6. Jonathan Hogg
7. Juninho Bacuna
8. Philip Billing
16. Karlan Grant
21. Alex Pritchard
24. Steve Mounié
26. Christopher Schindler (c)
27. Jon Gorenc Stanković
37. Erik Durm

Ben Hamer; Elias Kachunga, Aaron Mooy, Chris Löwe, Zanka, Florent Hadergjonaj, Matty Daly

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account