Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


20 January 2019

Sponsored by

Mark Hudson makes six changes to the Town XI

- Huddersfield Town side named to face Manchester City
- Caretaker Head Coach Mark Hudson makes six changes
- Adama Diakhaby starts; Philip Billing misses out through injury

Caretaker Head Coach Mark Hudson has made six changes to the Huddersfield Town line-up for today’s Premier League game against Manchester City; 1.30pm kick-off at the John Smith’s Stadium.

Hudson has put his own stamp on the team to face the reigning Champions, bringing Adama Diakhaby in for only his fourth competitive start for the Club. The former Monaco man starts a Premier League game for the first time since the trip to Everton on 1 September 2018.

Adama is joined in the team by Club Captain Tommy Smith, who completes his return from the hamstring injury that kept him side-lined over Christmas. The former Manchester City Academy player is making his first appearance since the game at Arsenal on 8 December 2018.

Unfortunately, Philip Billing has a slight knee issue that rules him out of today’s game, so Juninho Bacuna comes into the team for his first Premier League start of 2019.

Hudson also recalls Terence Kongolo, Isaac Mbenza and Chris Löwe today.

Apart from the injured Billing, the other five players making way from the Cardiff game – Zanka, Erik Durm, Florent Hadergjonaj, Alex Pritchard and Steve Mounié – are alongside Ben Hamer and Laurent Depoitre on the bench this afternoon.

January loan signing Jason Puncheon makes his home debut for the Club today in his 200th Premier League appearance.

Hudson is without the injured Philip Billing, Aaron Mooy and Danny Williams (all knee), whilst Abdelhamid Sabiri is building up fitness in training after his collarbone injury.

Town’s team vs Manchester City
1. Jonas Lössl
2. Tommy Smith (c)
5. Terence Kongolo
6. Jonathan Hogg
7. Juninho Bacuna
9. Elias Kachunga
11. Adama Diakhaby
15. Chris Löwe
18. Isaac Mbenza
26. Christopher Schindler
42. Jason Puncheon

Ben Hamer; Laurent Depoitre, Alex Pritchard, Steve Mounié, Zanka, Florent Hadergjonaj, Erik Durm

Advertisement block