Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


21 August 2019

Club News


21 August 2019

Sponsored by

Mark Hudson makes three changes to starting XI

- Huddersfield Town side named to face Cardiff City
- Mark Hudson makes three changes for Bluebirds clash
- Trevoh Chalobah in for his first league start for Town

Caretaker Head Coach Mark Hudson has made three changes to the Huddersfield Town side for tonight’s Sky Bet Championship game against Cardiff City; 7.45pm kick-off at the Cardiff City Stadium.

One of those changes sees Chelsea loanee Trevoh Chalobah come in for his first league start for the Club, replacing Juninho Bacuna. The 20-year-old has plenty of Sky Bet Championship experience from his time at Ipswich Town last season and previously started in the Carabao Cup game against Lincoln City.

The second switch sees Rajiv van La Parra make his first start of the new campaign following two good showings as a substitute in the previous two fixtures. It will be the Dutchman’s 100th competitive appearance for the Club tonight, as well as his 150th game in English league football. He replaces Lewis O’Brien, who is among the substitutes.

The final change brings Isaac Mbenza into the starting line-up for his first start in the Sky Bet Championship. Isaac replaces Elias Kachunga, who is on the bench in Wales.

There are further changes to the substitutes tonight, with newest recruit Fraizer Campbell making a welcome first appearance in Town’s match day squad. The Huddersfield-born striker is joined by defender Jaden Brown, with Herbert Bockhorn, Collin Quaner and Steve Mounié dropping out of the 18.

Tommy Elphick is making the 350th appearance of his league career tonight, whilst Alex Pritchard will make his 50th competitive appearance for Huddersfield Town.

Town’s team vs Cardiff City
1. Kamil Grabara
4. Tommy Elphick
5. Terence Kongolo
6. Jonathan Hogg
8. Trevoh Chalobah
16. Karlan Grant
17. Rajiv van La Parra
18. Isaac Mbenza
21. Alex Pritchard
26. Christopher Schindler (c)
33. Florent Hadergjonaj

Ryan Schofield; Juninho Bacuna, Elias Kachunga, Adama Diakhaby, Fraizer Campbell, Jaden Brown, Lewis O’Brien


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account