Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


7 July 2018

Sponsored by

Town midfielder named PFA Player of the Year for third straight year

- Aaron Mooy named the 2018 Australian Player of the Year
- Midfielder scoops accolade for third successive season
- Mooy: “I’m very proud”

Huddersfield Town midfielder Aaron Mooy has once again been crowned the Australian PFA’s Men’s Footballer of the Year.

Mooy adds the 2018 title to the same accolade from the last two seasons, making him the first Australian male to ever win the award for three successive years.

The Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Players’ Awards recognised Mooy in a ceremony in Sydney earlier this week, celebrating the organisation’s 25th anniversary.

Aaron was given the award for both his form for the Terriers in his first ever Premier League season as well as his performances for the national team, with Aaron playing every second for Australia in the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

He told the ceremony: “To have been recognised by my peers and to have been selected among such high calibre candidates is very humbling. It’s a huge honour and one that I’m very proud of.”

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account