Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


7 May 2017

Club News


7 May 2017

Wagner makes nine changes to starting XI

- David Wagner makes nine changes to starting XI
- Sean Scannell makes first home start since 28 November
- Tommy Smith & Collin Quaner retain places from Birmingham

Head Coach David Wagner has made nine changes to Town’s starting line-up for today’s Sky Bet Championship game against Cardiff City; noon kick-off at the John Smith’s Stadium.

One of the changes sees Sean Scannell (pictured above) start his first home game since picking up ankle ligament damage against Wigan Athletic on 28 November 2016.

He will start on the right flank today, with Rajiv van La Parra on the left and Chelsea loanee Izzy Brown in the number 10 slot.

Collin Quaner continues in attack today.

Danny Ward returns in goal, with Tommy Smith captaining the side and retaining his place from last weekend’s game at Birmingham City at right back. Chris Löwe, Michael Hefele and Christopher Schindler also start in defence.

Newly crowned Player of the Year Aaron Mooy starts alongside Jonathan Hogg in central midfield.

Philip Billing (knee), Elias Kachunga (calf), Jon Gorenc Stanković (knee), and Kasey Palmer (hamstring) are unavailable this afternoon.

Town’s team vs Cardiff City:
1. Danny Ward
2. Tommy Smith (c)
6. Jonathan Hogg
7. Sean Scannell
10. Aaron Mooy
15. Chris Löwe
17. Rajiv van La Parra
23. Collin Quaner
26. Christopher Schindler
37. Isaiah Brown
44. Michael Hefele

Joel Coleman, Dean Whitehead, Tareiq Holmes-Dennis, Martin Cranie, Jack Payne, Joe Lolley, Nahki Wells

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account