Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


21 March 2017

Town trio up for EFL accolade at end of season awards

- Three HTAFC representatives in 'Team of the Year'
- David Wagner voted Sky Bet Championship Manager of 2016/17
- Tommy Smith & Aaron Mooy in divisional XI

Huddersfield Town’s David Wagner, Tommy Smith, and Aaron Mooy have been named in the EFL’s Sky Bet Championship Team of the Year for the 2016/17 season.

Town players Smith and Mooy are in the league’s yearly 11 after excelling for the Terriers on the pitch this season, whilst Head Coach Wagner has been named the Manager of the league eleven.

The players, plus managerial slot, were voted for by representatives from the media who cover the 24 Sky Bet Championship clubs regularly throughout the season.

The full Sky Bet Championship XI is as follows:

GK David Stockdale, Brighton & Hove Albion

DL Scott Malone, Fulham
DC Lewis Dunk, Brighton & Hove Albion
DC Pontus Jansson, Leeds United
DR Tommy Smith, Huddersfield Town

MC Anthony Knockaert, Brighton & Hove Albion
MC Jonjo Shelvey, Newcastle United
MC Aaron Mooy, Huddersfield Town

S Glenn Murray, Brighton & Hove Albion
S Dwight Gayle, Newcastle United
S Chris Wood, Leeds United

Head Coach
David Wagner, Huddersfield Town

David, the first man from outside the UK or Ireland to manage the Terriers, has led the Club to third in the current Sky Bet Championship table with 71 points from 37 games; winning 22 games, drawing five and losing 10.

Twice winner of Sky Bet’s Championship ‘Manager of the Month’ accolade so far this season, David also steered the team to the Fifth Round of the Emirates FA Cup before eventual defeat to Premier League giants Manchester City after a replay.

Mooy and Smith have been integral to that performance.

Smith has enjoyed his best season to date, with the 24 year-old right back currently sitting third in the division’s assist charts with nine – adding to an impressive tally of four league goals.

Australian international midfielder Mooy has been the heartbeat of the team since his summer loan move from Manchester City, notching three goals and five Sky Bet Championship assists from central midfield. He’s fifth in the league in terms of chance creation, too.

All three Town representatives are now on the shortlist of 33 players and three managers for the overall EFL Team of the Season, which will be voted upon by an external judging panel and announced at the EFL Awards on Sunday 9 April 2017.

David will be up against Fleetwood Town’s Uwe Rösler (Sky Bet League 1) and Doncaster Rovers’ Darren Ferguson (Sky Bet League 2) for the overall managerial accolade.

See Town's award-winning trio LIVE when Burton Albion visits Huddersfield on 1 April; buy tickets online HERE!

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account