Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


1 March 2017

Club News


1 March 2017

Wagner makes nine changes for Emirates FA Cup clash

- David Wagner makes nine changes to starting XI
- Dean Whitehead and Collin Quaner retain places
- Harry Bunn among players to come into side

Huddersfield Town Head Coach David Wagner has made nine changes to the starting line-up for tonight’s Emirates FA Cup Fifth Round replay at Manchester City; 7.45pm kick-off at the Etihad Stadium.

One of two players to retain his place in the starting XI from Saturday’s Sky Bet Championship draw at Barnsley is midfielder Dean Whitehead, who makes the 500th start of his career in all competitions this evening.

The other is striker Collin Quaner, although Nahki Wells is fit after the ankle problem that kept him out at the weekend and is among the substitutes tonight.

Joel Coleman is fit to start after the calf issue he picked up in the first game against tonight’s opponent; he makes his 50th career appearance in replacing Danny Ward.

Mark Hudson and Jon Gorenc Stanković return at centre back, making their first starts since the first game against City, whilst Tareiq Holmes-Dennis and Martin Cranie play at full back.

With Aaron Mooy ineligible to face his parent club, Philip Billing partners Whitehead in the engine room.

Another player back from injury is Harry Bunn (pictured above); the former Manchester City Academy player starts his first game in nine tonight following a groin problem on the left wing, with Joe Lolley on the right and Jack Payne in the number 10 slot.

There’s a welcome return to the bench for Jonathan Hogg too following the groin problem he picked up at QPR in February.

Christopher Schindler isn't in tonight's squad after the bang he received on his left leg at Barnsley, while Aaron Mooy (ineligible) and Kasey Palmer (hamstring) are unavailable.

Town’s team vs Manchester City:
13. Joel Coleman
4. Dean Whitehead
5. Mark Hudson (c)
8. Philip Billing
11. Harry Bunn
12. Tareiq Holmes-Dennis
14. Martin Cranie
16. Jack Payne
18. Joe Lolley
23. Collin Quaner
27. Jon Gorenc Stanković

Danny Ward, Tommy Smith, Jonathan Hogg, Elias Kachunga, Rajiv van La Parra, Nahki Wells, Michael Hefele

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account