Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


17 February 2017

Pick the best of 10 goals before the end of February

- Help to select HTAFC's Goal of 2016
- Club wants fans to vote for best strike of the year
- Watch the HTTV video and cast your vote now!

The EFL has launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2016 - and Huddersfield Town wants your help in deciding which goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as the Club’s nomination.

Town can nominate one goal from any EFL competition in the 2016 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet EFL and the EFL Cup.
Fans can now decide the Club’s nomination by voting for one of the following 10 shortlisted goals, available to watch below courtesy of HTTV!

Now you’ve watched the goals, select your favourite via THIS LINK!

Closing date for nominations is 5pm on Tuesday 28 March.

Town’s nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards on Sunday 9 April 2017 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London.  A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football on Five Goal Rush.  Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at 9 April 2017.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday), Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about the EFL Awards please visit

Tweets by @htafcdotcom  

Advertisement block