Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


21 February 2017

Wagner makes nine changes to the XI from Man City

- David Wagner makes nine changes to Town's XI
- Rajiv van La Parra makes his 100th appearance in England
- Philip Billing also retains starting shirt from Man City

Huddersfield Town Head Coach David Wagner has made nine changes to the starting XI for tonight’s Sky Bet Championship game against Reading; 7.45pm kick-off at the John Smith’s Stadium.

Only Philip Billing and Rajiv van La Parra retain the starting shirts from the weekend’s 0-0 Emirates FA Cup draw against Manchester City, with the Dutchman (pictured above) making his 100th appearance in competitive English football as a result tonight.

Danny Ward returns in goal tonight, with Joel Coleman dropping out of the squad entirely due to a calf injury picked up in the second-half of Saturday’s fixture. 21 year-old ‘keeper Luke Coddington is a substitute for only the second time this evening.

The entire back four changes, with Chris Löwe, Christopher Schindler, Michael Hefele and Tommy Smith all starting. Smith, who scored his first ever goal for Town against tonight’s opponent last season, captains the side.

As expected, Australian Aaron Mooy returns to central midfield having been ineligible to face his parent club at the weekend. Town’s Head Coach pairs him with 20 year-old Dane Philip Billing, with Dean Whitehead a substitute tonight.

Van La Parra lines up on the left this evening, with Chelsea loanee Izzy Brown in the middle of the attacking midfield trio and top scorer Elias Kachunga on the right.

The in-form Nahki Wells starts up front, with Collin Quaner among the subs.

Town’s team vs Reading:
1. Danny Ward
2. Tommy Smith (c)
8. Philip Billing
9. Elias Kachunga
10. Aaron Mooy
15. Chris Löwe
17. Rajiv van La Parra
21. Nahki Wells
26. Christopher Schindler
37. Isaiah Brown
44. Michael Hefele

Luke Coddington, Dean Whitehead, Mark Hudson, Martin Cranie, Jack Payne, Joe Lolley, Collin Quaner

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block