Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


14 February 2017

Club News


14 February 2017

Five changes to the starting XI

- David Wagner makes five changes to Town XI
- Joe Lolley starts first Sky Bet Championship game since August
- Collin Quaner makes first Sky Bet Championship away strart

Huddersfield Town Head Coach David Wagner has made five changes to the starting XI for tonight’s Sky Bet Championship game against Rotherham United; 7.45pm kick-off at the AESSEAL New York Stadium.

Joe Lolley (pictured) comes in to make his first league start since suffering a long-term foot injury at Aston Villa way back in mid-August. The 24 year-old replaces Rajiv van La Parra, who is among the substitutes tonight.

January arrival Collin Quaner also makes his first Sky Bet Championship start on the road for the Terriers this evening. He replaces Nahki Wells in attack, with the Bermudian a substitute.

The third change comes at left back, as Chris Löwe has not travelled to South Yorkshire due to hamstring tightness. This means Tareiq Holmes-Dennis starts a league game for the first time since the 1-0 win at Wigan Athletic on 2 January.

As expected, Jonathan Hogg (groin) is missing tonight. Wagner has opted for Philip Billing to line-up alongside Aaron Mooy in the engine room.

Tommy Smith returns to the side at right back in the final change, replacing Martin Cranie. With Hogg missing, Tommy captains the side tonight.

This also means that Chelsea loanee Izzy Brown starts against the side he spent the first half of the current season with; he netted three times in 20 Rotherham appearances.

The experienced Dean Whitehead and Mark Hudson are substitutes tonight.

Wagner is also without Sean Scannell (ankle), Harry Bunn (hamstring) and Kasey Palmer tonight.

Town’s team vs Rotherham United:
1. Danny Ward
2. Tommy Smith (c)
8. Philip Billing
9. Elias Kachunga
10. Aaron Mooy
12. Tareiq Holmes-Dennis
18. Joe Lolley
23. Collin Quaner
26. Christopher Schindler
37. Isaiah Brown
44. Michael Hefele

Joel Coleman, Dean Whitehead, Mark Hudson, Martin Cranie, Jack Payne, Rajiv van La Parra, Nahki Wells

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account