Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports


18 February 2017

Match Reports


18 February 2017

Goals from Dom Tear and George Danaher

- Huddersfield Town U18s drew 2-2 with Nottingham Forest
- Goals from Dom Tear and George Danaher
- Highlights to appear on HTTV next week

Huddersfield Town’s Under-18s drew 2-2 with Nottingham Forest in the U18 Professional Development League this morning at PPG Canalside.

Town’s opponents got off to the best start and was ahead after just five minutes. En-Neyah put Forest ahead at the second attempt following Ryan Schofield’s initial diving save to stop his first effort.

Forest continued to press back the Town youngsters; Virgil Gomis hit a fierce strike from the edge of the area just wide of the post.

Despite the away side’s pressure, Leigh Bromby’s youngsters looked good on the counter attack and were level in the 39th minute. Matty Daly’s cross was head in six yards out by the on-rushing Dom Tear.

Just before the break the visitors had a chance to go ahead; Gomis released Arvin Appiah who went one-on-one with Schofield, but the Town ‘keeper denied him superbly from point blank range.

Town started the second half the better side as Luca Colville hit a thunderous free-kick inches wide of the top left corner.

The youngsters’ second half dominance paid off in the 59th minutes as they went ahead. George Danaher head in an Isaac Marriott free-kick at the back post.

Colville could’ve extended Town’s lead in the 68th minute. He went clear of the Forest defence and one-on-one with the ‘keeper but put his effort wide of the target.

Just three minutes later Forest was level; Will Swann rifled a shot past Schofield from 25 yards out, which left the ‘keeper with no chance.

Superb defending from Cameron Taylor with less than five minutes left denied Gomis and Forest from snatching all three points.

Highlights from the match will be on HTTV later this week.

Town’s team (4-2-3-1):

Ryan Schofield; Romoney Crichlow-Noble, Cameron Taylor, Saul Milovanovic, Sam Gibson (c); Isaac Marriott, Derek Boampong; Matty Daly, Luca Colville, Dom Tear; Olly Dyson.


Owen Brooke, George Danaher, Micah Oberio, Scott High, Mason O’Malley

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account