Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


20 April 2017

Club News


20 April 2017

Latest accolade for Australian midfielder

- Aaron Mooy named in PFA Championship Team of 2016/17
- Latest in a series of accolades for Australian midfielder
- PFA Awards Ceremony takes place this Sunday

Town midfielder Aaron Mooy has been rewarded with his latest personal accolade this morning, having been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association Championship Team of the Year.

The 26 year-old, who is on a season-long loan from Manchester City, has already been named in the EFL’s overall and divisional Team of the Year, but has now been placed in the Sky Bet Championship XI that is voted on by his peers.

The PFA Divisional Teams of the Year have been announced ahead of the 44th PFA Awards to be held in the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday 23 April 2017.

The PFA Championship Team of the Year, sponsored by Panini, is as follows:

Goalkeeper - David Stockdale (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Defender - Bruno Saltor (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Defender - Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Defender - Jamaal Lascelles (Newcastle United)
Defender - Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)

Midfielder - Tom Cairney (Fulham)
Midfielder - Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Midfielder - Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
Midfielder - Jonjo Shelvey (Newcastle United)

Forward - Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United)
Forward - Chris Wood (Leeds United)

The PFA Awards celebrates the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

As the season draws towards its climax, the PFA Awards is a celebration of the achievement of all PFA members from the last 12 months.

In addition to the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year categories, the divisional Team of the Year are announced for all five divisions and the PFA honours footballing achievement through its Merit Award.

Previous winners of the prestigious PFA Players’ Player of the Year award have included Luis Suarez, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Ryan Giggs. The current holders are Riyad Mahrez and Izzy Christiansen.

PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE: “The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar.

“For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished.”

Watch Mooy in action for the Terriers against Fulham on Saturday; click HERE to buy your ticket online!

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account