Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


1 October 2016

Wagner makes three changes to the starting XI

- David Wagner makes three changes to Town's XI
- Mark Hudson, Jonathan Hogg & Chris Löwe all start
- Tareiq Holmes-Dennis, Michael Hefele & Kasey Palmer make way

Huddersfield Town Head Coach David Wagner has made three changes to his starting XI for today’s Sky Bet Championship game against Ipswich Town; 3pm kick-off at Portman Road.

After missing Tuesday night’s game through suspension for picking up five yellow cards, defensive duo Mark Hudson and Chris Löwe (pictured above) come back into the team today in place of Michael Hefele and Tareiq Holmes-Dennis. Both Hefele and Holmes-Dennis are substitutes this afternoon.

The third change sees Jonathan Hogg return to the line-up, having been rested in the midweek win over Rotherham United. Hogg is making his 100th Huddersfield Town appearance and his 200th career league appearance in place of Kasey Palmer, who is on the bench in Suffolk.

After his midweek suspension winger Rajiv van La Parra is a sub, so Harry Bunn, Ivan Paurević and Jon Gorenc Stanković drop out of the match day 18 for today’s game.

Dean Whitehead and Sean Scannell make back-to-back starts for the first time this season. Whitehead played for Ipswich boss Mick McCarthy at Sunderland, whilst Scannell’s appearance today is the 150th of his league career.

Striker Nahki Wells has enjoyed playing against the Tractor Boys in the past for the Terriers; he’s netted three goals in five appearances against today’s opponent.

Only Joe Lolley (foot) is unavailable for selection today.

Town’s team vs Ipswich Town:
1. Danny Ward
2. Tommy Smith
4. Dean Whitehead
5. Mark Hudson (c)
6. Jonathan Hogg
7. Sean Scannell
9. Elias Kachunga
10. Aaron Mooy
15. Chris Löwe
21. Nahki Wells
26. Christopher Schindler

Joel Coleman, Tareiq Holmes-Dennis, Martin Cranie, Jack Payne, Rajiv van La Parra, Michael Hefele, Kasey Palmer

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block