Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


18 April 2016

Huddersfield Examiner collating the votes

- Vote for HTAFC's Player of the Year
- Huddersfield Examiner collating the votes
- Get yours in before close of play Friday!

Voting is now open for the Hargreaves Memorial Huddersfield Town Player of the Year 2015/16!

The Club has joined forces with the Huddersfield Examiner to set up a vote, which is open from now and will run until Friday 22 April, so you can decide which player is the most deserving this season.

Following Saturday's 2-0 victory at Blackburn Rovers, the team lies 16th in the Championship. But which player has stood out more than the rest?

Last year, Jacob Butterfield claimed the award by the narrowest of margins; there was under 1% difference in the voting between the midfielder and runner-up Sean Scannell, who was named Players' Player of the Year.

In David Wagner's first season at the helm, there are again a number of worthy candidates for this year's Hargreaves Memorial trophy, named after Town supporters John and Edith Hargreaves.

The rules state that the winner must have made 10 appearances for the first team during 2015/16, so who will you be voting for?

Top scorer Nahki Wells has netted 17 times in all competitions, and is a shoe-in to collect the Golden Boot, but he's also chalked up four assists and his all-round displays have won plaudits from his Head Coach.

After Wells, the player with the most appearances this term is skipper Mark Hudson, Wagner's trusted lieutenant on the field and in the dressing room - with goals against Leeds, Fulham and Charlton to his name, and an assist during an unfamiliar centre forward role against MK Dons.

Jamie Paterson, on a season-long loan from Nottingham Forest, is a popular figure with the fans and his strike against Hull City last weekend took his tally up to seven goals for the season.

In a deeper role, summer signing Dean Whitehead has added some steel to the midfield areas, while Jonathan Hogg has flourished under Wagner's guidance and has been a real miss since his injury in February.

Winner of last year's Goal of the Season award, Joel Lynch continues to do his best work in his own penalty area, and Town's back line has looked at its most formidable with him at its centre.

Philip Billing has made the breakthrough from the Academy ranks to the First Team this term, while Joe Lolley has also blossomed to become one of the most regular names on the team sheet and a reliable contributor from the wide areas.

The other names on the shortlist hoping to get your vote are Jed Steer, Tommy Smith, Jason Davidson, Sean Scannell, Karim Matmour, Ishmael Miller, James Husband, Emyr Huws, Harry Bunn and Kyle Dempsey.

Vote for your favourite player; click HERE to access the Huddersfield Examiner website!

The winner will be revealed at the 2016 Annual Awards ceremony; click HERE if you want to be there!

Tweets by @htafcdotcom

Advertisement block