Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


1 January 2013

Grayson makes three changes to starting XI

Huddersfield Town Manager Simon Grayson has made three changes to his starting XI for today’s npower Championship game at Leicester City; 3pm kick-off at the King Power Stadium.

Lee Novak makes his 100th Huddersfield Town start in attack, replacing Simon Church – who has now returned to Reading as his loan spell has come to an end.

Elsewhere one-time Leicester City loanee James Vaughan returns to the starting line-up at the expense of fellow loanee Jermaine Beckford, who is ineligible to play against his parent club this afternoon.

The final change comes in midfield where Chris Atkinson drops to the bench in favour of Scott Arfield, who is making his first start since the derby at home to Leeds United six games ago.

The Terriers look set to line up in a 4-4-2 formation this afternoon, with goalkeeper Alex Smithies looking for a seventh clean sheet of the season behind a back four of Murray Wallace, Joel Lynch, Anthony Gerrard and Jack Hunt – who is fit after being forced off against Sheffield Wednesday through injury on Saturday. 

Adam Hammill starts a first away game since the defeat at Millwall on 27 October on the left wing with Scott Arfield likely to line up on the right, leaving Adam Clayton to partner skipper Keith Southern in central midfield. Up front Lee Novak will partner James Vaughan.

Town’s team vs. Leicester City:
1. Alex Smithies
6. Anthony Gerrard
8. Adam Clayton
9. Lee Novak
14. Adam Hammill
15. Murray Wallace
16. Scott Arfield
18. James Vaughan
24. Keith Southern (c)
32. Jack Hunt
33. Joel Lynch

Substitutes: Ian Bennett, Paul Dixon, Oliver Norwood, Peter Clarke, Sean Scannell, Anton Robinson, Chris Atkinson

Advertisement block