Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


22 April 2013

Sinnott strikes late to secure win

Jordan Sinnott’s late strike at home to Coventry was enough to earn Town U21s three points on Monday afternoon.

The win moves Town to second in the U21 Professional Development League 2 with just one game to play at Leeds United on Monday 29 April.

The conditions at Canalside Sports Complex made it very difficult for both sides to play football with the wind causing plenty of problems.

A draw looked to be on the cards, but Sinnott scuffed home after Theo Robinson had done well to steal the ball from the Coventry defender.

Playing downhill and downwind the Terriers dominated the first half and were unlucky to go in level at half-time. 

With 15 minutes played, a vicious inswinging free-kick by Sinnott flashed through a crowded Coventry penalty area and forced Chris Dunn into a fine save. 

Robinson was also thwarted by the stopper as Town’s pressure mounted before Dunn split a Sinnott cross and had a Coventry defender to thank for clearing Matt Crooks’ shot off the line. 

On the half hour mark, Godwin Abadaki headed over at the far post before Joel Lynch blasted over from no more than six yards out. Coventry were hanging on and escaped again just before the break when Dunn did well to deny Robinson from a narrow angle.

Despite having the conditions against them in the second 45, Town continued to impress. On the hour mark they should have opened the scoring when Crooks got to the byline and slid the ball across just out of reach of the onrushing Robinson.

Coventry, who had offered little, began to control play after Town’s near miss and came close to opening the scoring when Lloyd Allinson had to tip a corner onto the bar.

Town’s persistence was eventually rewarded with five minutes to play when Robinson stole the ball from the final Coventry defender and slid the ball across to Sinnott who scuffed home from eight yards out.

Town’s team (4-4-2):

Lloyd Allinson; Robbie McIntyre, Joel Lynch, Tom Smith, Israel Johnson; Dale Hopson, Jordan Sinnott, Scott Arfield, Matt Crooks; Godwin Abadaki (Jake Charles, 88), Theo Robinson (Paul Mullin, 87)

Unused substitutes:

Ed Wilczynski, Joe Wilkinson

Advertisement block