Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


19 July 2012

Striker collects four accolades on the night

Jordan Rhodes was the star of the show as record numbers attended the Club's Annual Awards Ceremony at the Stadium.

Following Town's victory over Yeovil Town, the squad and record numbers of guests descended on the Stadium on the evening to celebrate another season of achievement on and off the field.

Scottish international Rhodes won four awards on the evening, scooping the prestigious Hargreaves Memorial Trophy after Town fans voted him as their Player of the Year; the Players' Player of the Year; the Golden Boot Award and the Goal of the Season accolade for his strike against Brentford in front of the Sky cameras on home soil.

Town's annual showpiece event of the year was sponsored by local Financial Advisors Robertson Baxter for the second successive season and expertly hosted by the BBC duo of Tanya Arnold and Paul Ogden.

A full list of award winners is below!

Hargreaves Memorial Player of the Year Award

Jordan Rhodes

npower League 1's leading goalscorer won this award after his astonishing season of personal achievement. Jordan has put his name among popular modern goal-scorers for the Club such as Andy Booth and Marcus Stewart with his exploits this season. He is pictured with members of the Hargreaves family.

Players' Player of the Year - sponsored by Dual Seal Glass

Jordan Rhodes

With a ratio of almost a goal a game throughout the domestic season, Jordan's strike record is unparalleled across English football this term and his teammates voted for him as their player of the year He is pictured with representatives of sponsor Dual Seal Glass.

Players' Young Player of the Year - sponsored by Chadwick Lawrence

Jack Hunt

Given the success that the young right back has enjoyed in his career to date, it is sometimes easy to forget that the 2011/12 campaign is his first as a regular member of the Town team. After missing the opening game of the season Hunt burst onto the scene with a real blockbuster of a goal at Port Vale in the Carling Cup - and he has not looked back. He is pictured with a representative from Chadwick Lawrence Solicitors.

Goal of the Season - sponsored by Meridian Healthcare

Jordan Rhodes vs. Brentford (H), 21 January 2012

After Town fans voted to narrow the list of goals down to a shortlist of five, the majority of attendees on the evening voted for Jordan's strike in front of the Sky cameras. Jordan is pictured with representatives of Meridian Healthcare.

Champagne Moment - sponsored by Expect Distribution

The 6-0 win at Wycombe

Skipper Peter Clarke picked up this award from representatives of Expect Distribution on behalf of the team that recorded such a spectacular win on live television earlier this year, smashing the Chairboys on the evening.

Best Dressed Player Award - sponsored by

Tommy Miller

Experienced midfielder Tommy picked up the first of two light-hearted accolades on the evening after accumulating the most votes from his teammates; he picked up his award from Town's Commercial Director Sean Jarvis.

Worst Dressed Player Award - sponsored by Homecare Bathrooms

Peter Clarke

The skipper took this award on his stride after his teammates voted largely in his favour - he picked up his award from representatives of Homecare Bathrooms.

Contribution to the Club Award - sponsored by Gordons Solicitors

Peter & Jan Swallow

This award recognises outstanding contribution to the Club off the field and there are no more deserving winners than the Swallows. Together the couple have raised around £11,000 for the 'Keep It Up' campaign, which supports the Yorkshire Air Ambulance - a cause close to their heart due to a bereavement in their family. They are pictured with representatives of Gordons Solicitors.

Golden Boot Award - sponsored by Brighouse Flooring Company Ltd

Jordan Rhodes

No surprise here - Jordan was comfortably the winner of this award after an amazing season of goal-scoring that has seen him notch 38 goals in 42 domestic appearances. He picked up his award from representatives of Brighouse Flooring Company.

Most Assists Award - sponsored by Perry's

Lee Novak

The hard-working striker grabbed this award just ahead of teammate Jack Hunt after his unselfish play laid on 11 goals for his teammates throughout the campaign. He is pictured with Perry's representatives on the evening.

Media Player of the Year - sponsored by Spring Personnel

Alan Lee

An award that recognises the contribution of a player to the press pack that covers Town every single week, Alan was a popular winner in the room and picked his award up from a representative of Spring Personnel.

Antoni's Memorial Academy Player of the Year

James Burke

This award recognises outstanding achievement on and off the pitch from Town's Academy scholars and this year Academy Manager Mark Lillis selected second year defender James Burke, who was recently offered his first professional contract by the Club. James is pictured with members of the Kaminski family.

For all of Town's commercial opportunities visit!

Advertisement block